3 Best Apps to Read Books for Free

Talya Adams
5 min readOct 2, 2020

Why pay more, when you can pay nothing?

I’ve been an avid reader since I learned how back at the wee old age of two. Jokes, but you get my point. Reading is one of my favorite past times, and I’m always checking to see the latest titles hitting the market.

Usually, I satisfy my need for books and frugality by going to the public library and borrowing. However, during the pandemic, libraries have been closed in LA since March and haven’t reopened yet.

Instead of panicking and doing something crazy like buying books on Amazon, I downloaded some free apps to keep the reading party going.

The apps I’m going to mention below work in partnership with public libraries, so you need your library card number to use them. If you have it, then I’m getting ready to rock your world.

  1. Libby

Libby. Libby. Libby. Girl, you’ve gone from a stranger to a friend. She can be yours too if you download her to your phone and peruse her vast collection of books.

The great thing about Libby is it usually has the newest and hottest titles on the market. Most new releases have waiting lists, but…

--

--